Tags

,

I am headed to Chicago for the American Association for the History of Medicine 2014 Annual Meeting.

I am presenting on a panel for the first time at a AAHM conference (though I have had the great good fortune to have presented several individual papers in the past).

It is quite an honor to be presenting alongside Ian Burney and Christopher Hamlin, but I will endeavor not to embarrass anyone!

The title of our panel is “Making Forensic Medical Knowledge 1880s-1930s: Spatial, Technical, and Performative Strategies.”

My paper is entitled “Contests Over Railway Spine in Mid-to-Late 19th c. Great Britain and America: Truth, Lesions, and Mechanical Objectivity.”  The paper continues my work on the intellectual history of pain in mid-to-late 19th c. U.S. & England, and attempts to situate increasing doubts, skepticism, and concerns over malingering and deception in context of changing models of scientific objectivity.

Please do feel free to say hello IRL, or over the blog or Twitter if you prefer.  Those who’d like to follow the conference remotely can do so as the #AAHM2014, and I’ll do my best to live-tweet as much as I can!

